cooking, Enjoyment, Fitness, Local, Omnivore, Raw food, Weight loss, Wellbeing

Camping – Health your way

Last weekend I went camping with my wife again, for our first time this year. We ended up with a pretty fun and successful trip. Not much went 100% according to plan, as hard as I tried 😉 the bikes did not get to come along, but that was ok. Most exciting and unplanned is that my wife and I had a 9 mile hike one day. It’s great to be active!

For food, we had a mixture of granola bars, trail-mix, lettuce, kale, carrots, potatoes, peas, two mangoes, red bananas, watermelon, hard-grain bread, and some organic animal products such as hard-boiled eggs, venison, turkey dogs, milk. My wife had a few pieces of lettuce, and I had a small bit of kale and lettuce, which was awesome to not have to eat as much anymore. If you are trying to lose weight, it is advisable to eat more greens though.

We also went out to eat twice this time at some “healthier” restaurants in the area.

It just brings me back to what this site is all about – attaining and keeping health and wellness while having large freedom in life (to a point) to live healthfully and happy at the same time. In the past I would have wanted to bring way more fruit along, but now my more sustainable mindset and tastebuds changed to appreciate more variety of foods, particularly denser ones that satiate longer and require less resources outside of the tropics.

I know I’m a hypocrite for still buying tropical foods, but hey, I like the best of both worlds. A little bit of everything at times (exceptions to personally intolerable foods/activity do apply).

Anyways, I hope everyone else has a fabulous time during their weekends/vacations, and in normal work-life as well.

Standard

Leave a Reply

